Miles Davis:

Quiet Nights

Recorded in 1962-1963

[1-2-3-4-5-6] Gil Evans arranger, conductor Miles Davis trumpet Ernie Royal, Bernie Glow, Johnny Coles, Louis Mucci trumpet Jimmy Knepper, Dick Nixon, Frank Rehak trombone Julius Watkins, Bob Swisshelm, Paul Ingraham French horn Bill Barber tuba Romeo Penque, Jerome Richardson, Eddie Caine, Bob Tricarico, Danny Bank reeds Steve Lacy soprano saxophone Janet Putman harp Paul Chambers bass Jimmy Cobb drums Bob Rosengarden percussion

[7] Miles Davis trumpet George Coleman tenor saxophone Victor Feldman piano Ron Carter bass Franck Butler drums

[8] Gil Evans arranger, conductor Miles Davis trumpet Dick Leith bass trombone Richard Perissi, Bill Hinshaw, Art Maeba French horn Paul Horn flute, alto flute, tenor saxophone Gene Cipriano oboe, alto flute, tenor saxophone Fred Dutton bassoon Marjorie Call harp Herbie Hancock piano Ron Carter bass Tony Williams drums

Ind. Title Composer Dur.
1/ Song No. 2 Gil Evans, Miles Davis 1:36
2/ Once Upon A Summertime Johnny Mercer, Michel Legrand, E. Marnay, Eddie Barclay 3:24
3/ Aos Pes Da Cruz (Slow Samba) M. Pinto, J. Goncalves 4:15
4/ Song No. 1 Gil Evans, Miles Davis 4:33
5/ Wait Till You See Her Richard Rogers, L. Hart 4:03
6/ Corcovado (Quiet Nights) Antonio Carlos Jobim 2:42
7/ Summer Night H. Warren, A. Dubin 3:19
8/ The Time Of The Barracudas * Gil Evans, Miles Davis 12:45

Recorded at the Columbia 30th Street Studio, NYC: [1,2] on November 6, 1962, [3, 6] on July 27, 1962, [4, 5] on August 13, 1962. At Columbia Studios, Hollywood: [7] on April 17, 1963, [8] on October 9-10, 1963. Engineer: Fred Plaut [1 to 6], R.G. [8].
Digitally remastered at Sony Music Studios, NY. Engineer: Mark Wilder.

Producer: Teo Macero except [8] Irving Townsend. Produced for reissue by Bob Belden.

Note: * extra track (Columbia/Legacy CD reissue only)